Thursday 3 March 2016

Brent Youth Parliament elects new officers

From Brent Council

Members of Brent Youth Parliament (BYP) which represents almost 75,000 young people elected their new leadership team recently.

The new executive was elected after speeches and voting among all 72 young people who are members of the parliament, representing their school, youth group and organisation.

The new executive for 2016 are:

  • Leesha Varsani – Chair
  • Najib Rahman – Deputy Chair
  • Shivani Trivedi – Media Representative
In addition, Dilan Dattani was elected as Brent's UK Youth Parliament representative and Jai Patel as deputy representative.

Leesha, who is a sixth-former at Alperton Community school, said:

I want to make sure we are the voice of young people in the borough and that our views are heard among councillors. There are many important issues facing young people and I want to make sure BYP has an impact.
BYP was founded in 2007 and is made up of young people aged from 10 to 19 years old, from all walks of life. It works with the local authority and its elected members to improve services for young people and represent their views.

For more information please email

No comments: