Thursday 12 November 2015

Brent's Shahrar Ali now Number 3 on Green's GLA Election List

Shahrar Ali with Natalie Bennett, leader of the Green Party of England and Wales

Shahrar Ali, Deputy Leader of the Green Party is now Number 3 on the London Green Party List for the 2016 GLA election following a recount conducted today by Electoral Reform Services, following a request by the London Green Party.

ShahrarAli  said:
I feel honoured and humbled that members have chosen me as one of their lead candidates and hugely excited at the prospect that Londoners could return their first BME Green to City Hall. It’s gratifying, and comes as a huge relief, to finally know the true result of a hotly contested ballot of over 12,000 members held over the summer, that had to be recounted due to discovery of a significant mistake in the count instructions given by us.

Amongst my priorities, I will give voice to tackling the everyday prejudice or downright racism faced by ethnic minorities. Greens will fight your corner, whether combating illicit racial profiling by police or confronting the Islamophobia in our schools and colleges fostered by the government’s Prevent programme.

As a lifelong Londoner, I would relish the opportunity to represent and serve Londoners’ interests from City Hall. As part of a great Green team, I would tackle the problems faced by ordinary people and the poverty-stricken, whether those marginalised by work which doesn’t pay, public transport that doesn’t come cheap, or by housing that banks on developers and investors at families’ expense. Only Greens are able to offer the radical vision and joined up approach that Londoners desperately need and deserve.
The results of the recount will be officially ratified at the next Green Party  London Regional meeting on 16th November 2015.

Ronald Stewart, member of Haringey Green Party, who originally noticed the count error and raised the alarm,explained:
The quota for the election had been set lower than specified by the London Green Party framework, as a requirement of STV. This gave an incorrect result which did not proportionally reflect the voters’ wishes.
The full list of candidates is now ordered as follows:

1. Sian Berry
2. Caroline Russell
3. Shahrar Ali
4. Jonathan Bartley
5. Noel Lynch
6. Rashid Nix
7. Tom Chance
8. Dee Searle
9. Benali Hamdache
10. Andrea Carey Fuller
11. RoseMary Warrington

Reserve 1. Peter Underwood
Reserve 2. Michael Gold
Reserve 3. Barry Cooper

No comments: