Tuesday 8 September 2020

UPDATED WITH LATEST CHANGES Brent Cabinet changes see Cllrs Agha, Miller and Hirani replaced by Stephens, Knight and Nerva

Brent Council has updated its website with new Cabinet appointments.

Cllr Neil Nerva replaces Cllr Hirani as Lead Member for Public Health, Culture and Leisure. Cllr Hirani is the Labour Brent and Harrow Constituency candidate for the May 2021 GLA Election (deferred from May 2020). Hirani lost little time in publishing a video congratulating himself on his performance in the Cabinet, which served the twin purpose of promoting his GLA campaign. LINK

Cllr Promise Knight replaces Cllr Tom Miller as Lead Member for Community Safety and Engagement

Cllr Thomas Stephens replaces Cllr Agha as Lead Member for  Schools, Employment and Skills.  Cllr Stephens was the main author of the recent report on democracy which was criticised as not going far enough by Cllr Gill LINK

The other Cabinet positions that remain unchanged according to the website are:

Cllr Muhammed Butt (Leader)
Cllr Margaret McLennan (Deputy Leader and Member for Resources)
Cllr Harbi Farah (Lead Member for Adult Social Care)
Cllr Mili Patel (Lead Member for Children's Safeguarding, Early Help and  Social)
Cllr Krupa Sheth (Lead Member for Environment)
Cllr Eleanor Southwood (Lead Member for Housing and Welfare Reform)
Cllr Shama Tatler (Lead Member for Regeneration, Property and Planning)

I understand that Cllr Roxanne Mashari becomes  Chair of Resources and Public Realm Committee following the decision to have male and female chairs. Cllr Ketan Sheth continues as Chair of Communitu and Wellbeing Scrutiny.

Cllr Matt Kelcher leaves Scrutiny to become Chair of Planning and Cllr James Denselow takes on the lesser role of Chair of Licensing.

No comments: